June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
IMPORTANT: Working Hours and Delivery Times - please *Click Here*


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Messiaen, Olivier (1908-1992)
Publisher Ref:AL25314
This volume includes the movement 'Appel Interstellaire' for solo horn.

Price: £40.95
Sub Title:Includes 'Appel Interstellaire' for solo horn
Skill Level:E
Publisher:Leduc Editions Musicales
ISBN:none specified
Des Canyons aux Etoiles... (From the Canyons to the Stars...) is a large twelve-movement work by Olivier Messiaen scored for four soloists and orchestra.
The sixth movement, Appel Interstellaire, is a demanding movement for solo horn. It was originally composed for an entirely different purpose - in March 1971, the young French composer Jean-Pierre Guézec died, and his composer friends contributed a collection of short pieces for solo instruments in his memory. For that collection, Messiaen wrote a brief movement for solo horn. He liked the piece well enough that when he began work on Des Canyons aux Etoiles..., he adapted it for inclusion in the larger piece.
The title translates as "Interstellar call", as if this music were a horn call that reaches across the vast span of outer space. The music is extraordinarily difficult for the performer, who must master a range of techniques: flutter-tonguing, closed notes, glissandos and faintly-sounded oscillations produced with the keys half-closed. Appel Interstellaire begins with a strident call that might reach out across the universe, and between the various calls and extended techniques (and several long silences), the horn sings two lyric passages. Along the way we hear the calls of two birds (the Chinese thrush and the canyon wren) and at the end the music fades into silence on a recall of the faint oscillations.
It is increasingly performed as a solo, stand-alone piece by horn players in recitals although Messiaen himself did not wish it to be played separately.

  • Appel Interstellaire (Interstellar Call)
  • Bryce Canyon et les rochers rouge-orange (Bryce Canyon and the red-orange rocks)

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).