June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Thomys, Alojzy (1929-2005)
Instrumentation:sax/A. pft.
Publisher Ref:PWM6517
Ten short untitled, accompanied pieces ranging from intermediate to advanced level and intended either as study material or for performance.

Price: £16.95
Skill Level:E
Publisher:PWM Edition
Year of Issue:1968
ISBN:none specified
Thomys was a member of the pioneering and illegal Polish jazz band of the 1950's 'Melomani' which was founded in Lodz during the Stalinist era when jazz was considered to be "Western, rotten imperialism". The police controlling an event would be generously entertained with vodka beforehand, and then the concert could proceed. As well as performing as soloist with the Polish Radio Orchestra, Thomys taught jazz at the Music Lyceum in Krakow founded by Chopin, and it was probably there that he wrote his 'Miniatures in Various Styles'. They have become part of saxophone literature and are known far beyond the borders of Poland.
The composer prefaces this collection by saying that it "... aims to introduce the performer to the sound world of twentieth-century music (impressionism, dodecaphony, jazz) through the use of various techniques or compositional devices characteristic of its styles. The compositions included here, which progress from intermediate to very difficult in standard, m

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).