June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
IMPORTANT: Working Hours and Delivery Times - please *Click Here*
NATALIS score only

NATALIS score only

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Ellerby, Martin (b.1957)
Instrumentation:4tpt. 2hn. 3tbn. euph. tba. org. 3perc.
Publisher Ref:MC0189C

Price: £19.95
Publisher:Maecenas Music
Year of Issue:2014
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
Natalis was written for the Hampshire Youth Brass and for the composer's nephew, whose desperate struggle for life provided the work's impetus, agenda and title (which translates as "of the birth"). Although composed as a single movement, there are three distinct sections (equating approximately to hope, struggle and triumph) with the main thematic ingredients laid out in the first. The sumptuous sound world of the opening paints an idyllic, too-good-to-be-true Arcadian landscape untouched by care or worry and the material gently evolves in the sunshine.
But even the best kept garden can contain a snake and the introduction of the Dies Irae gives warning that all is in fact not well. What follows is a scherzo of force and menace, the motif developed with considerable harmonic and rhythmic invention, but with just a glint of late sun in the form of a glancing, possibly subconscious, reference to "O God our help in ages past" before the transition to the final section where the central motif is transformed into a heroically lyrical choral like melody building to an exultantly epic conclusion. Hope is restored, but it has not been easily won.

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).