June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
EU Customers - New Tax Rules from 1st July 2021 *Click for Details*
NONET (score & parts)

NONET (score & parts)

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Martinu, Bohuslav (1890-1959)
Instrumentation:fl. ob. cl. bn. hn. vn. va. vc. cb.
Publisher Ref:ES2010-89

Price: £99.95
Skill Level:E
Publisher:Edition Silvertrust
Year of Issue:2010
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
“Martinu's Nonet was composed in 1959 shortly before his death. It is scored for string trio, bass and wind quintet. The work was commissioned to celebrate the 35th anniversary of the famous Czech Nonet, virtually the only permanent ensemble of its kind. It has received considerable critical acclaim. It consists of three movements, all of them of only modest length. The opening Poco allegro is sunny and bright, sounding a bit like a neo-classical Haydn might have. The music is lively but not hectic. The winds and strings are very nicely blended and the work retains the intimate nature of chamber music rather than tilting toward the orchestra. The second movement, Andante, stands in stark contrast to the first. Though the air of mystery runs throughout, there is also a deep vein of sadness and defeat, perhaps indicative of the fact that he was, at the time he composed the music, dying of cancer. The dynamic range virtually never rises to above a mezzo forte. The main theme of the finale, Allegretto, is rhythmically complex, while its melody is once again bright. A second theme brought forth by the upper strings, and then reiterated by the massed winds, has a warm dream-like quality. It is followed by a playful, boisterous interlude before the short coda calm coda. This is a first rate modern work." - R.H.R. Silvertrust, writing in The Chamber Music Journal.

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).