June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Cimarosa, Domenico (1749-1801)
Instrumentation:ob/cl. pft.
Publisher Ref:M060016080
Four of a set of 32 keyboard sonatas, written by an eighteenth century Italian while he was in Russia and arranged as a concerto for a British oboist by an Australian - music at its most cosmopolitan.

Price: £14.99 £11.24
Arranger:Benjamin, Arthur
Skill Level:C/D
Publisher:Boosey & Hawkes Ltd
Year of Issue:1942
ISBN:none specified
Cimarosa wrote some eighty operas and his most successful 'Il Matrimonio Segreto' was considered by no less an operatic composer than Verdi as the model opera buffa (comic opera). In 1787 Cimarosa went to St Petersburg as composer to the Russian Imperial Court but, we are told, the money available for staging opera dwindled and he turned to instrumental composition instead. Apparently this included a set of thirty-two keyboard sonatas in the style of Domenico Scarlatti.
In the early 1940's Arthur Benjamin (1893-1960), best known for his 'Jamaican Rumba' of 1938, arranged numbers 23, 24, 29 and 31 of Cimarosa's keyboard sonatas into a four movement concerto for oboe or clarinet with a reduction of the orchestral part for piano, dedicating it to the acclaimed oboist Evelyn Barbirolli. The first movement Larghetto leads into an Allegro second movement which refers to Cimarosa's roots in 'opera buffa'. A gracefully dancing Siciliana third movement brings the work to a robust finale in the fourth.

The full orchestral set is available for hire only from the Boosey & Hawkes Hire Library: www.boosey.com/pages/licensing

  • II. Allegro
  • III. Siciliana
  • IV. Allegro giusto

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).