June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Cowles, Colin (b.1940)
Publisher Ref:Cool14
Three short unaccompanied pieces in jazz and rock styles for the beginner bassoonist to enjoy.

Price: £4.50
Skill Level:A/B
Publisher:Cool Music
Year of Issue:1997
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
The son of a RAF band bassoonist, Colin Cowles entered Trinity College of Music, London as a Junior Exhibitioner at the age of thirteen and became a full time student of piano, organ and composition five years later. As a prizewinning graduate, he took up his first teaching post in 1962 and from then on reacquainted himself with the saxophone and clarinet families and became proficient on the bassoon. In 1978 Cowles gave up classroom teaching altogether and continued as a peripatetic woodwind teacher with more time available for composition at home in the Buckinghamshire village of Nether Winchendon. With over four hundred works to his name, in a wide variety of genres which range from a ballet symphony to film and television scores, not to mention a great deal of educational work, Colin Cowles is now largely retired from composition. He describes his style as "undeniably English and.....much influenced by the countryside and friends alike."

The first of these three short unaccompanied pieces gives its name to the collection. It is jazzy with swung quavers and the last of the three - 'The Pulsator' has a strong rock beat so they are 'out of character' with the composer's self proclaimed English style.

  • Out of Character
  • Mind the Gap
  • The Pulsator

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).