June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Lewis, Paul (b.1943)
Instrumentation:fl. hp.
Publisher Ref:GM116

Price: £6.00
Publisher:Goodmusic Publishing
Year of Issue:2013
ISBN:none specified
The Pink and White Terraces near Rotorua, with their thermal pools, were known as the eighth wonder of the world and were New Zealand's most famous beauty spot and tourist attraction in the nineteenth century.
"Set in a basin of pure white silica, delicately carved and fretted, lay a pool of pale blue water, so pure in colour, so opaque in substance." (Mrs. Howard Vincent, tourist)
The terraces were reached by a three-hour canoe ride across Lake Tarawera, followed by an hour's walk. On May 31st 1886, at different times of day, the occupants of two canoes, both Maori and non-Maori alike, saw an extraordinary sight.
"We were startled by a cry from an old Maori woman. We distinctly saw a Maori war canoe gliding along, apparently racing us." (George Sise, tourist)
"The Maoris said it was a phantom canoe and predicted that it would be the end of the world. No such canoe as we had seen now existed." (Louise Sise, tourist)
The mysterious sighting did indeed herald the end of their world, for after eleven days and many ominous tremors, Mount Tarawera erupted violently in the early hours of June 10th, 1886, burying several villages, killing around 120 people and destroying the Pink and White Terraces.
The music seeks to evoke the unearthly beauty of the Terraces. The old Maori woman's cry on seeing the phantom canoe is heard in bar 64 and the piece ends uneasily as night falls on the eve of the fatal eruption.
Should a player be available, a taonga puoro (Maori native instruments) improvisation evoking the sighting of the waka wairua (spirit canoe) and the subsequent predictions of disaster may be inserted at bar 66.

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).