June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Kohler, Ernesto (1849-1907)
Publisher Ref:CH55791
The first of a 3 volume set, this is subtitled 'Book 1: 15 Easy Studies'. Köhler's original of c.1888 has been carefully revised for this edition by Edward Blakeman.

Price: £6.99
Skill Level:C/E
Publisher:Chester Music
Year of Issue:1985, 1990
ISMN:none specified
Ernesto Köhler was well enough taught by his father at home in Modena, Italy to be appointed first flute of the Karlstheater Orchestra in Vienna at the age of 20. In 1871, two years later, he was engaged as flautist in the orchestra of the Russian Imperial Ballet in St Petersburg where he remained for the rest of his life, in the coveted position of first flute in the Imperial Opera from 1900. St Petersburg gave him the opportunity to teach and to compose which led to the publication of over one hundred works for flute including solos and duets, some of which were popular enough to be released on very early recordings.

He also published a number of books of flute studies, many of which are still in print. One of the most popular is the 3 volume 'Progress in Flute Playing' (Op.33) which was first published in about 1888. The 15 studies it contains are presented progressively by key signature up to Eb Major and E Major, in various simple and compound times. Köhler dedicated Book 1 to Professor Theodor Waterstraat of the St. Petersburg Conservatoire and a colleague in the Imperial Opera Orchestra. In preparing the present edition, Edward Blakeman has corrected mistakes found in the printing of the original and he has retained the original phrasing and revised and clarified the dynamics and marks of expression.

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).