June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Lewis, Paul (b.1943)
Instrumentation:fl. vc. pft.
Publisher Ref:B&D13208

Price: £16.95
Series Title:Simply Strings
Publisher:Broadbent & Dunn
ISBN:none specified
Retrospective Family Portraits, written in 2002, four and a half years after the composer and his former wife parted company, is a deeply felt work. Lyrical and joyful but with an emotional sting in the tail, it is idiomatically written for the three instruments in the composer's usual Anglo-French melodic style. The three movements are: Kim - the family dog - a white Boxer, pictured galumphing along Somerset country lanes before taking off across the fields in joyful pursuit of rabbits and moles, finally returning home to sink exhausted into her basket. Genevieve - the composer's former wife - French, blonde, gracious, artistic and a wonderful cook, though not without her more enigmatic moments. Rowena - the composer's daughter - memories of the young Rowena on happy holidays in France pervade the music until, without warning, the mood changes towards the end composer and daughter had not met since the family break-up four and a half years previously, and the music calls out Rowena's

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).