June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
FREE Delivery on all UK orders
RHAPSODY score & parts

RHAPSODY score & parts

Composer:Turner, Kerry (b.1960)
Instrumentation:fl. ob. cl. bn. hn. vn. va. vc. cb.
Publisher Ref:869001

Price: £29.95
Publisher:Phoenix Music Publications
Year of Issue:2001
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
Rhapsody was meant to recreate, with music, four vivid yet fleeting memories in the life of the composer. The scenes which flashed into Mr Turner’s mind were both full of character and colour, indeed each interesting enough on which to base an episode of music.
The episodes are entitled: The Story Behind the Scream, Return to the Scene of a Past Romantic Affair, Crossing a Street in Old Shanghai, and The Steeple of the Belair Church. The piece begins with an introduction which states the principal theme over a dreamy background. This theme reoccurs throughout the entire work, sometimes in counterpoint with the new episodic material, sometimes alone and sometimes in the accompaniment. The four episodes are tied together with three interludes, which bring a source of continuity to the work. The Finale presents a completion of the principal theme and integrates the various melodies and motifs of the episodes.
Rhapsody for Nine Instruments was commissioned by Mr Maarten Hudig of Rotterdam, The Netherlands. The commission was a retirement gift presented to him by his colleagues. The instrumentation of the commission was outlined by Mr Hudig himself as it corresponds to the instruments of his chamber ensemble.

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Parcelforce and other courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 57,000 titles listed (and increasing daily), most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes. Just let us know what you’re looking for.

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge between us, so we’re always happy to offer advice and information whenever needed.

Contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).