June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
SERENADE No.1 (score & parts)

SERENADE No.1 (score & parts)

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897)
Instrumentation:fl. 2cl. bn. hn. 2vn. va. vc. cb.
Publisher Ref:NM2161
A reconstruction for wind dectet (from the orchestral version) of Brahms's Serenade, which was originally written for nonet.

Price: £33.00
Arranger:Turrill, Tony
Publisher:Norvik Music
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
The serenade was originally written for a chamber group, a nonet of wind and strings (Fl./2Cl./Bsn/Hn/Vn/Va/Ce./Bass). Brahms completed this version in 1858, sent it to his publishers and it was performed in concert in Hamburg in 1859 but not well received. However, a year later he had added a second flute, two oboes, a second bassoon, three horns, two trombones, a timpani and a full orchestra of strings. It is this version that was finally published and is the one we know today. The score of the nonet was lost, quite possibly destroyed by Brahms himself unlike some who retained their sketches, he habitually destroyed completed scores that he subsequently changed.
The nonet was abnormal in that it had two clarinets and no oboes, unusual but a cursory examination of today's score quickly explains why. Brahms uses the clarinet pair in ways that demonstrate his complete understanding of the tonal qualities of the instrument that he was later to use to the full in the symphonies, the trio, the sonatas and best of all the magnificent quintet. He wanted these sounds, so he dropped the oboe and doubled the clarinets. There are times in the final version when he retains the woodwind exactly as they must have been in the original nonet. The most obvious is the first minuet, still largely written for nothing but two clarinets and a bassoon, joined briefly by the flute and tacet for the rest of the band but there are many more, for example the concluding section of the first movement, the divine introduction of the adagio, the emotional entry of the two clarinets and horn at bar 199, the conclusion of the same movement and the theme of the final rondo.
A detailed examination of the score of the orchestral version suggested that it would be possible to identify the skeleton of the chamber original, to reverse Brahms’ re-orchestration and expose the original nonet. I was not especially interested in producing an authentic reproduction of the nonet played in 1858. I just aimed to produce a chamber version to be played today. My version is actually a dectet – I have kept the second violin, I believe this improves the balance of wind and strings.
- Tony Turrill

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).