June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
WE ARE OPEN FOR BUSINESS!! Important Delivery & Supply Information *Click Here*


Composer:Lantier, Pierre (1910-1998)
Instrumentation:sax/A. pft.
Publisher Ref:AL20261
This single movement piece " .... is particularly useful in learning an elegant and flowing musical style." and ".... is a graceful work, which appeals to performers and listeners alike."

Price: £12.99
Skill Level:C
Publisher:Leduc Editions Musicales
Year of Issue:1944
ISBN:none specified
Pierre Lantier was 'affiliated' to the Paris Conservatoire and won the prestigious Prix de Rome for composition in 1937. He was also noted as a pianist and conductor, at least to the extent that he conducted the first performance of his wife Paule Maurice's 'Tableau de Provence' for saxophone and orchestra in 1958. His compositions include chamber works for saxophone quartet and bass trombone and sonatas for trumpet and saxophone.

One of Lantier's best known works is his 'Sicilienne' for alto saxophone and piano which, since its publication in 1944, has become a classic of the alto saxophone repertoire. It is written in a single movement but in strongly contrasting moods - a declamatory almost aggressive middle section framed by two passages of lilting 6/8 which give the piece its name. "The stylistic nuances and variety, combined with dynamic contrasts and pleasing melodies, make this a work well worth performing." (Steven Mauk)

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Parcelforce and other courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).