June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
IMPORTANT: Working Hours and Delivery Times - please *Click Here*
SILENT ARIA (Abridged)

SILENT ARIA (Abridged)

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Herbert, Philip
Instrumentation:ob. pft.
Publisher Ref:NOV166870
Originally a dance, this lovely piece by a contemporary British composer is influenced by the widely differing sources of minimalism and Bach's keyboard preludes.

Price: £8.99
Sub Title:Suite for Oboe and Piano
Skill Level:C
ISMN:none specified
Philip Herbert is a British composer based in Leicester. This delightful and wistful piece started life as a dance project with choreographer Henry Oguike, and was first performed in its entirety in 2013 in Leicester as part of Black History Month. This, slightly abridged, version gives the Oboe a singing line of great beauty. Herbert himself notes that he combines 'hypnotic and expressive melismas in the melodic line supported by the accompaniment supplied by the Piano, which draws on the influence of minimalism and chordal figuration that is to be found in some of the keyboard preludes of J.S. Bach'. The E flat section in the middle provides some contrast, and the delicately ornamented ending brings the piece to a calm conclusion. The metronome mark should be carefully noted so that the piece floats and flows nicely without getting stuck and indulgent.

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).