June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Galliard, Johann Ernst (1687–1749)
Instrumentation:bn. pft.
Publisher Ref:IMC2114
Three of six sonatas written for a London bassoonist by a contemporary and probably a colleague of Handel's.

Price: £15.95
Arranger:Fussl, Karl Heinz
Editor:Weisberg, Arthur
Skill Level:B/C
Publisher:International Music Co.
Year of Issue:1963
ISBN:none specified
Already a student of the oboe, Galliard was about fifteen when he started to study composition with Farinelli, director of music at the Hanoverian court, and Abbate Steffani, and their Italianate influence was to dominate his music from then on. In about 1706 Galliard went to London as chamber musician to Prince George of Denmark, husband of Queen Anne, and later became organist at Somerset House. Although the music he wrote for one act masques called "pantomimes" was well received, he had little success with opera, possibly because he set English libretti when Italian was expected by fashionable London of the day, and Galliard joined Handel's Italian Opera as solo oboist in 1713 and later established himself as an author.

As an oboe player, it is perhaps natural that many of Galliard's compositions should be for wind and include these "Six Sonatas for the Bassoon or Violoncello with a Thorough Bass for the Harpsichord" which were composed "at the request of one Kennedy, a fine player on the bassoon, and by him often performed in public." They were first published by John Walsh at his shop off the Strand in London, in 1733.

  • Cantabile
  • Spiritoso e staccato, a tempo moderato
  • Largo e staccato
  • Allegro e Staccato: Hornpipe a l'Inglese
  • Vivace
  • SONATA No.2
  • Andante
  • Vivace
  • Alla siciliana
  • Spiritoso e Allegro
  • SONATA No.3
  • Largo
  • Allegro - Adagio
  • Spiritoso

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).