June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Aho, Kalevi (b.1949)
Publisher Ref:M550114876

Price: £13.50
Skill Level:E
Publisher:Fennica Gehrman
One of the big projects of Kalevi Aho (b. 1949) has been to create a virtuoso solo piece for every central instrument of the symphony orchestra. When the Italian Risuonanza Festival asked for a solo trombone piece, the composer was glad, because the trombone solo was still lacking from the Solo series. Kalevi Aho tells: “I like the trombone as an instrument, and I had before the Solo XIII composed already two big trombone works. In my Symphony No. 9 (1994) I have used the trombone as a solo instrument – in the premiere the Swedish trombonist Christian Lindberg played its demanding solo part - and 2010 I composed also a big trombone concerto for the Dutch trombonist Jörgen van Rijen. In Solo XIII (2017) I could utilize my knowledge about the possibilities of the instrument.” The piece is in one movement but includes several slower and faster sections. Rocco Rescigno premiered the 9-minute piece at the Risuonanze Festival in Pasian di Prato in 2019.

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).