June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Hindemith, Paul (1895-1963)
Instrumentation:bn. pft.
Publisher Ref:ED3686
A two movement sonata by a leading composer of the first half of the twentieth century who evolved his own system of tonality.

Price: £17.99
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Schott & Co.
Year of Issue:1939
ISBN:none specified
Because his parents opposed his plans for a career in music, Paul Hindemith left home at the age of 11 and earned a living playing violin in cafés and dance bands in nearby Frankfurt. Somehow he attended the city's conservatory and became skilled enough to lead the Frankfurt Opera Orchestra between 1915 and 1923, interrupted in 1917 by conscripted World War I service as a bass drummer in a military band. During the 1920s, as the viola player of the widely recognized Amar-Hindemith Quartet, Hindemith's compositions found favour with the International Society for Contemporary Music.

His style recognized the 'Neue Sachlichkeit' or 'New Objectivity' of his contemporaries in experimenting with the technical innovations of the time and, at first, drawing on a variety of influences. But he had a leaning towards a more contrapuntal style and in pursuing a 'linear' tendency, Hindemith moved away from conventional tonality of a system of chords tied to the diatonic scale to a tonality of his own based on a chromatic scale whose notes have been fixed by the laws of acoustics and where the 'quality' of intervals is of particular importance.

But none of this is immediately evident in the bassoon part of Hindemith's sonata which is dated 1938, shortly after he had fled from Germany to Switzerland and then to the USA, to escape a confused and contradictory boycott of his work by the Nazis. The first of its two movements marked 'Leicht bewegt' - 'with slight movement' is tuneful, lyrical even wistful. The absence of a key signature implies C Major or A minor but the plethora of accidentals in both parts suggests a shifting key centre that generates some unresolved tension. The second movement is in three distinct sections, the first marked 'Langsam' - Slow, looks and sounds harmonically simpler than the first movement and gives the soloist an attractive 3/4 melody set against a rippling accompaniment. It 'segues' into a 2/2 'Marsch' which does as its name suggests until a more melodious and thoughtful Trio is reached, after which the march theme returns in the piano and solo and accompaniment proceed with variations on it until the finale is reached. This is marked 'Beschluss, Pastorale-Ruhig' - Decisive (?), Pastoral-Calm and starts with a 10 bar (6/8) piano introduction to the bassoon's entry with the same lilting melody to bring the sonata to a peaceful conclusion.

  • II Langsam - Marsch - Beschluss, Pastorale-Ruhig

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).