June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
*AIRMAIL ORDERS* Due to ongoing technical issues at Royal Mail, we are only able to despatch airmail orders using their 'Signed for' services. Please note that these services require a signature on delivery.


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Eccles, Henry (1687-1742)
Instrumentation:sax/A. pft.
Publisher Ref:164-00047
One of twelve violin pieces first published in 1720, 120 years before the saxophone was invented, arranged by the acclaimed saxophonist Sigurd Rascher.

Price: £10.50
Arranger:Rascher, Sigurd
Skill Level:B/C
Year of Issue:1958
ISMN:none specified
Eccles had already played the violin in the King's Band for over thirty years under four monarchs when Handel arrived in London in 1712. He was a good player but felt unappreciated in his home city, so he moved to Paris where, in 1720, he published 'Twelve Solos for the Violin'. Eccles borrowed extensively from the works of Giuseppe Valentini (1681-1753) for his slow movements although it is thought that the present sonata, No.11 in g minor, is largely his own work. Even so, the second movement owes much to a piece by Francesco Bonporti (1672-1749).

In his introductory note, the accomplished saxophonist, arranger and teacher Sigurd Rascher (1907-2001) explains the need to transpose the solo part an octave higher and the practice of transposing music written for one instrument to be played by another which was not unusual in Eccles' day. "It is altogether a question of style. A saxophone player can develop such a style by playing this music."

  • I Largo
  • II Courante
  • III Adagio

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).