June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
FREE Delivery on all UK orders


Composer:Turner, Kerry (b.1960)
Instrumentation:hn. 2vn. va. vc.
Publisher Ref:219001

Price: £34.95
Skill Level:E
Publisher:Phoenix Music Publications
Year of Issue:1993
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
Composers of the 1980's and 90's are striving more and more to communicate with their audiences. The modern horn player is, on the other hand, constantly searching for new music that is challenging both technically and artistically yet easily understandable for the listener. All this encompasses the language of the composer and the purpose of the Sonata for Horn and Strings. The piece offers a sound not often heard in either the string quartet or horn literature.
The first movement comprises an introduction and six major episodes which flow quickly and smoothly into one another. Each episode has it's own set of themes, passed around from player to player, resulting in a compact section. The rhythms vary in each episode, becoming highly rhythmic and then more conventional, but doing so with a certain inevitability. The central theme midway through the movement, which is stated again at the end, utilizes a melodic and harmonic style characteristic of the composer.
The second movement commences with a short introduction, stating the principal motive. This haunting motive soon develops into a melodic theme, which builds continually to a dramatic climax. An attacca into the third movement follows.
The third movement is marked "Allegro, quarter = 144". It's very beginning is a variation of the previous movement's motive, unifying the two. The form is relatively easy to follow: A(aba) B(cde) A(abc) and a Coda. It's five contrasting themes are technical, rhythmic and lyrical.
The Sonata for Horn and Strings lasts approximately fourteen minutes and exhibits every aspect of the modern horn virtuoso. The piece is entitled Sonata for Horn and Strings because it may be either performed with a string quartet or, to realise the full potential of the sonorities in the piece, a chamber string orchestra.

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Parcelforce and other courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 57,000 titles listed (and increasing daily), most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes. Just let us know what you’re looking for.

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge between us, so we’re always happy to offer advice and information whenever needed.

Contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).