June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
FREE Delivery on all UK orders
SONATA No.2 in D Op. Posth. Urtext

SONATA No.2 in D Op. Posth. Urtext

Composer:Schumann, Camillo (1872-1946)
Instrumentation:hn. pft.
Publisher Ref:EB32114

Price: £24.90
Sub Title:First Edition
Skill Level:D/E
Publisher:Breitkopf & Hartel
Year of Issue:2017
Schumann’s horn sonatas were composed in 1936/37. Considering the slim repertoire offered horn players from this period, it is more than surprising that these two masterpieces could have slumbered for so long. Both sonatas are similar in structure, with op. 118 being one of Schumann’s few three-movement sonatas.
The first movements of the pieces sparkle with melancholically lyrical melodies, whereas passages strongly marked rhythmically, variously shape the two outer movements. Virtuoso moments can be found, respectively, in the final movements, bringing the works to a brilliant close. The horn parts predominantly range within the full, sonorous middle register, where occasional “outbursts” up to the notated a flat'' are also not lacking. The clever handling of the balance of sounds, the possibilities on the early valve horn as well as the inner interweaving of themes differentiating horn and piano make the sonatas an exceedingly vivid testimony to Schumann’s mature compositional art.
Schumann’s horn sonatas are a crucial enhancement to each horn player’s repertoire.

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Parcelforce and other courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 57,000 titles listed (and increasing daily), most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes. Just let us know what you’re looking for.

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge between us, so we’re always happy to offer advice and information whenever needed.

Contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).