June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
SONATA No.2 Op.94

SONATA No.2 Op.94

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Prokofiev, Sergei (1891-1953)
Instrumentation:fl. pft.
Publisher Ref:M060021176

Price: £25.99
Skill Level:D/E
Publisher:Boosey & Hawkes Ltd
Year of Issue:1946
ISBN:none specified
Prokofiev left Moscow under the threat of its capture following the Nazi invasion of the USSR in the summer of 1941 and after several moves, he arrived in Molotov (now Perm) in the Ural Mountains where his Flute Sonata was completed in 1943 and premiered in Moscow that year. It is said to be the most rustic of Prokofiev's wartime works and was apparently inspired by the French school of composition. The composer is quoted as saying..."it has turned out to be quite bulky, with four movements and about forty pages" and it is undeniably long at about 24 minutes duration. Prokofiev uses the full range of the flute and combines twentieth century musical ideas and harmony with classical style and form to produce "A characterful and exciting sonata.....".

  • Presto
  • Andante
  • Allegro con brio

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).