June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Digital Download
Composer:Bowen, York (1884-1961)
Instrumentation:rec/A. rec/S. pft.
Publisher Ref:e-E113

Price: £15.50
Sub Title:(also referred to as Sonatina)
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Emerson Edition Ltd
Year of Issue:1994
ISBN:none specified
Edwin York Bowen was born in London in 1884, the youngest son of the owner of the Whisky distillers Bowen & McKechnie. He made his musical debut when he was 8 as the soloist in a Dussek piano concerto. At the age of 14 he won the Erard Scholarship to the Royal Academy of Music, where he studied the piano with Tobias Matthay, and composition with Frederick Corder. As a student he won many important prizes for both piano playing and composition, and when he left the Academy he had also won the Medal of the Worshipful Company of Musicians. By the time he was 20 his works (including three piano concertos) had been successfully performed and admired by such conductors as Hans Richter and Sir Henry Wood.
During the First World War he served in H.M. Scots Guards, eventually transferring to the Regimental Band as a horn and viola player. He contracted pneumonia whilst in France and was brought back to England by his wife, who was an ambulance driver. Subsequently he returned to the Royal Ac

Digital Delivery Details

You will receive two separate emails: one which contains the order confirmation and receipt; one which includes the links to your downloaded products.
You will also find these links within the My Account area of the website - click on the relevant order number within the Downloads tab to find them. For this reason it is mandatory to register for, or log in to, your online account in order to purchase/retrieve Digital Editions.

Digital Editions are watermarked on every page with the purchaser’s name, email address, order date and order number.

You have 2 attempts to download each PDF. If you have any problems downloading the files, or both attempts are unsuccessful, please Contact us giving full details of the problems you've experienced and we'll do our best to resolve the issue.

- Digital editions cannot be downloaded onto a mobile phone.
- Please ensure that you check all your details are correct before confirming your order.
- We cannot refund Digital Editions where a download has been attempted.
- Digital Editions are for individual use only and NOT for resale.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).