June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Turner, Kerry
Instrumentation:tbn. pft.
Publisher Ref:881035

Price: £26.95
Publisher:Phoenix Music Publications
The Sonata for Trombone and Piano, opus 78, was composed in 2017. It was commissioned by Jeremy Wilson, Associate Professor of Trombone at Vanderbilt University's Blair School of Music.
Turner's Sonata for Horn and Piano, opus 13, which he composed at the age of 29, has become a standard in the horn repertoire. That piece was modelled on many other standard sonatas for horn and piano, showcasing highly melodic music for the modern valve horn in a classic "sonata-allegro" form. It was this formula that Turner applied to the composing of the Sonata for Trombone and Piano.
The haunting theme that surfaces in the second half of the second movement, and then again at the very end of the work was taken from an earlier piece by Turner for string quartet entitled "Il Giardino della Follia." The composer believes that each theme and melody that invents will eventually find its true home in a composition. This certainly seemed to be the case with this eerie refrain, as it pronounced itself with such inevitability during the construction of the second movement, and indeed affected the entire atmosphere of the Sonata.
The three movements performed with small breaks between the second and third movements have a duration of approximately 16 minutes.

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).