June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
SONATA Op.2 No.2

SONATA Op.2 No.2

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Tessarini, Carlo (1690-1766?)
Instrumentation:ob/fl. pft.
Publisher Ref:HU3746
An attractive 3 movement sonata by a little known baroque composer who nevertheless played an important part in the development of the sonata and instrumental concerto.

Price: £8.50
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Harmonia Uitgave
Year of Issue:1987
ISMN:none specified
Probably a pupil of Corelli's who may also have studied under Vivaldi, Carlo Tessarini is first mentioned as a violinist at St. Mark's Cathedral, Venice in 1720. From there he joined the Cathedral band at Urbino and spent seven years as a court musician at Brno, Bohemia, moving to the Netherlands in 1744. Tessarini may have visited Paris and London but seems to have spent his latter years in the Netherlands where, in Arnhem on 15 December 1766 he gave his last concert and is thought to have died shortly afterwards. He wrote a number of violin sonatas and 'concerti grossi', some of which suggest Vivaldi's influence, but Tessarini has been credited, in his own right, with important contributions to the evolution of the sonata and concerto.

In 1737 the London music publisher John Walsh produced "XII Solos for a German Flute, a Hoboy or Violin with a Thorough Bass for the Harpsichord or Bass Violin Compos'd by Carlo Tessarini ... Opera Seconda" (op.2). Being the only music of Tessarini's to be published in London casts doubt on its authenticity, but if these sonatas are not by Tessarini, his reputation must have been good for someone to want to pass off their work as his. Whoever composed this music, it has been described by no less an oboist than Evelyn Rothwell as having " .... flowing and at times florid melodic lines ... typical of the music of many Italian composers of the eighteenth century, attractive for the listener and most gratifying for the players."

  • Largo
  • Vivace
  • Allegro

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).