June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
IMPORTANT: Working Hours and Delivery Times - please *Click Here*


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:La Montaine, John (1920-2013)
Publisher Ref:BB2011
A sonata for unaccompanied flute in four movements, published in New York in 1957. An obituary writer described La Montaine's music as "...lyrical and for the most part traditional, with a neo-Romantic streak..."

Price: £12.95
Skill Level:E
Publisher:Broude Brothers
Year of Issue:1957
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
John La Montaine was already an accomplished concert pianist when he came to public notice as a composer in the late 1950's. He won the Pulitzer Prize for music in 1959 for his First Piano Concerto and was commissioned to write the music for John F Kennedy's Presidential Inauguration in 1961. His sonata in four movements for unaccompanied flute is dedicated to Paul Renzi who was principal flute of the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra in 1957, when it was published. The first movement is haunting in its elusive tonality and the second is as jaunty as its name suggests. Slow tempi and thoughtfulness return in the third movement and the fourth is a brilliant and dashing finale. In his obituary of La Montaine in the New York Times, Paul Vitello writes "Mr LaMontaine's music was lyrical and for the most part traditional, with a neo-Romantic streak reflected in his embrace of poetry, American themes and the natural landscape."

  • I. Questioning
  • II. Jaunty
  • III. Introspective
  • IV. Rakish

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).