June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
SONATA a la Maniere de Francis Poulenc

SONATA a la Maniere de Francis Poulenc

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:van Klaveren, Wijnand
Instrumentation:sax/A. pft.
Publisher Ref:RMP1001

Price: £38.50
Publisher:Resolute Music Publications
Year of Issue:2012
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
"This piece in three movements plunges us into the precision and subtlety of French music from the time of Francis Poulenc. Very well done and composed "in style", this piece will allow us to study the repertoire of the early 20th century. The first movement (allegro), mono-thematic, borrows melodic colors and uses essentially the theme presented in the first bar. It is a lively movement, although in the middle of it we find a slow section consisting of beautiful melodic phrases. The slow movement (Interlude) relies on many changes of tonal colors and confusing enough for students, but it nevertheless has an easily identifiable structure (ABA), and leit-motifs from the exhibition are the framework in development. The third movement is a very lively bi-thematic rondo, bringing the musician through rich melodic colors.
In this piece, very little articulation work, but essentially a melodic work, of accuracy, of phrasing, of color and style.
My opinion: a beautiful piece that adds to our repertoire, to present to your students, to own in your library and especially to play and communicate."
- Monsieur Stephane Sordet, translated from original French review for ASaxWeb

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).