June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
Visiting & Shipping Information *Click Here*


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Schocker, Gary (b.1959)
Instrumentation:sax/A. pft.
Publisher Ref:114-40977
A 4 movement sonata for alto saxophone and piano by probably the most published contemporary composer of flute music.

Price: £19.50
Skill Level:E
Publisher:Theodore Presser Company
Year of Issue:2001
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
From his base in New York, Gary Schocker has forged a worldwide career as a flautist and since 2003, as a flute teacher at home and abroad. He is said to be the most published living composer of flute music with more than two hundred works in print and has also written for other wind instruments including the oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn and saxophone.
The first movement (Allegro moderato) of his Sonata for Alto Saxophone opens with the saxophone robustly stating the theme which is reminiscent of a sea shanty. The mood becomes more thoughtful as new material is introduced and the tonality shifts until the movement ends with the opening theme repeated with a full accompaniment. The scherzo second movement is followed by a ballad like third with sudden and unprepared key changes and the finale, marked 'Allegro vivo, raucous' seems to be more of a joke than the second.

  • I. Allegro moderato
  • II. Scherzo
  • III. Andante
  • IV. Allegro vivo, raucous

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).