June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
Visiting & Shipping Information *Click Here*


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Jacobi, Wolfgang (1894–1972)
Instrumentation:sax/A. pft.
Publisher Ref:IB1004
Over 100 works by this little known composer were destroyed during World War II and it is fortunate that this sonata escaped to be published some 40 years after it was written.

Price: £10.95
Skill Level:E
Publisher:Bourne Company
Year of Issue:1965
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
Wolfgang Jacobi's three years of study in Berlin led to his appointment as a teacher of music theory there in the early 1920's and the start of his composing career. In 1933 he fled Nazism for Florence but was forced to return to Germany a year later and was prohibited from all musical activity until the end of WW2 in 1945 when Jacobi took up the study of composition, harmony and counterpoint in Munich. He returned to teaching and composition and committed himself to cultural development, particularly amongst the young. He founded the 'Studio for New Music' but was influenced by Debussy, Hindemith. Reger and Bartok and described himself as a neo-classicist.
The Alto Saxophone Sonata was written between 1930 & 1932 and dedicated to Sigurd Rascher. The first movement (Allegro ma non troppo) is marked by persistent staccato semi-quavers, mostly in groups of four, a careful mixture of legato and staccato tonguing and a syncopated dialogue between saxophone and piano. The triple-time second movement (Sarabande) is mysterious, at times sinister and uses a wide range of dynamics at the extremes of the saxophone's range in varying semi-quaver groupings. The erratic sounding and unsettling scherzo Finale (Allegro) is characterised by the soloist's attacks placed on upbeats and the piece ends in a rapid descent through nearly two octaves and a sustained note cut off by a sforzando.

  • I. Allegro, ma non troppo
  • II. Sarabande
  • III. Allegro

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).