June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
EU Customers - New Tax Rules from 1st July 2021 *Click for Details*
SONATA in B minor

SONATA in B minor

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Ranish, John (1693-1777)
Instrumentation:fl. pft/vc.
Publisher Ref:9780193584662
A typically Baroque style sonata in 3 movements by a contemporary of Handel's. An elegant and expressive Adagio leads into a spirited Allegro, before the work comes to a spectacular close with a lively Giga.

Price: £7.95
Editor:Platt, Richard
Skill Level:D/E
Publisher:Oxford University Press
Year of Issue:1971
ISMN:none specified
His name is said to be of eastern European origin but the subscribers to Ranish's two sets of flute sonatas were mostly residents of Cambridge and it is known that he lived in the city and died there in 1777 at the age of eighty-four. A reference to Ranish in the Cambridge Chronicle - probably his obituary, describes him as being for "....many years an eminent teacher and performer upon the German flute in the town." The first set of eight sonatas was published in 1735 but by the time the second set appeared in 1744 (Opus 2), Ranish had been 'taken up' by the publisher John Walsh of the Strand, London. Walsh was Handel's publisher and known to be a shrewd business man who would not take on anything unless it was likely to turn a decent profit. All this suggests that Ranish was at least known in London and that his Op.2 sonatas were thought to have merit.

The sonata offered here is the third of the Op.2 set. It has been edited by Richard Platt who has also realized the figured bass and presents a work which is typically Baroque in style if less so in form with its opening slow movement, "....: an elegant and expressive Adagio leads into a spirited Allegro, before the work comes to a spectacular close with a lively Giga" (in 12/8 time).

  • I Adagio
  • II Allegro
  • III Giga

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).