June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
Visiting & Shipping Information *Click Here*
SONATA in C major

SONATA in C major

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Loeillet, Jean-Baptiste (1680-1730)
Instrumentation:ob. pft.
Publisher Ref:CH01567
A 4 movement sonata by a lesser known baroque composer, arranged here by an outstanding oboist of the twentieth century.

Price: £8.99
Arranger:Rothwell, Evelyn
Editor:Gibilaro, A.
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Chester Music
Year of Issue:1993
ISMN:none specified
The biographies of the Loeillet family, musicians of Ghent, are complex and Jean Baptiste who became known as 'John Loeillet of London' is often confused with 'John Baptist Loeillet of Ghent'. According to 'Groves Dictionary of Music ...' they are one and the same person who settled in London and by 1705, was playing first oboe in the orchestra of The Queen's Theatre in the Haymarket. Five years later he resigned to take up teaching the wealthy folk of London and organize weekly concerts for them, at which Corelli's concertos were reputedly performed for the first time in England. Perhaps spuriously, he is also credited with introducing the transverse or 'German' flute to England but, true or not, he wrote numerous sonatas for recorder, transverse flute, or oboe and is said to have been an accomplished player on the last two instruments.

Loeillet seems not to have written any of his sonatas specifically for oboe, titling them for flute or oboe or "... for variety of instruments ..." which makes it difficult to date this piece. He probably wrote it during the 1720's as two of its movements also appear in one of the 'XII Solos' published in London by John Walsh in 1729. It is edited and arranged here by the distinguished oboist Evelyn Rothwell (1911-2008).

  • I. Largo cantabile
  • II. Allegro
  • III. Largo espressivo
  • IV. Allegro

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).