June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
SONATA in C minor RV53

SONATA in C minor RV53

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Vivaldi, Antonio (1678-1741)
Instrumentation:ob/fl/vn. pft.
Publisher Ref:ANT133
Although there is some doubt that Vivaldi wrote this sonata, it is consistent with his style - "full of both harmonic and melodic daring."

Price: £11.99
Editor:Schlovogt, Helmut
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Schott & Co.
Year of Issue:1951
ISBN:none specified
The only source for this C minor sonata of Vivaldi's, apparently discovered in 1860, is a manuscript score in the Saxon State Library, Dresden which is titled " Sonata per Oboe Solo Del S' Vivaldi". That, and the fact that it is the only known work by him for just oboe and basso continuo, has raised doubt as to its authenticity. But it bears hallmarks of Vivaldi's style - "abrupt modulations, unusual juxtapositions of major and minor modes, unpredictable changes in harmonic rhythm." and in the absence of an alternative candidate for its composition, opinion seems to settle on Vivaldi.

Whoever composed it, he (or she) wrote in the Dorian mode (tonally speaking, with a 'key signature' of 2 flats) but this edition is transcribed into the tonal system and so has the key signature of C minor ( 3 flats). As was common practice at the time of its composition - believed to be c.1716-1717, the bass was unfigured and it has been realized in this edition, following the usual conventions. For the most part, phrasing and dynamics have been left to the judgement of the player as has ornamentation which is particularly important in the third movement which, as written, is stark.

  • Adagio
  • Allegro
  • Andante
  • Allegro

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).