June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
SONATA in F major HoWV XI.1

SONATA in F major HoWV XI.1

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Homilius, Gottfried August (1714-1785)
Instrumentation:ob. bc.
Publisher Ref:CV16501
A four movement sonata by this little known composer which lay unrecognized in a library for about 250 years.

Price: £14.95
Arranger:Horn, Paul
Editor:Wolf, Uwe
Skill Level:C
Publisher:Carus Verlag
Year of Issue:2008
ISBN:none specified
Although he qualified as a lawyer at Leipzig University at the age of 21, Homilius's heart lay in music. In 1742 he became the organist at the Dresden Frauenkirche and in 1755 until his death, the choirmaster at the Kreuzkirche. He composed mostly to suit his employment - for organ and vocal church music and the small amount of orchestral and chamber music he wrote could only be verified by reference to the publisher Breitkopf's thematic catalogues which were published from 1762 onwards. Under the heading 'Sonatas for Oboe and Bass' is a theme by Homilius. It was thought that the oboe sonata was lost until it was discovered in the Berlin State Library, concealed by a misspelling of the composer's name. This copy is of late 18th century date and doesn't help to date the original composition.

The work is a church sonata with four movements alternating between slow and fast. It could originate from Homilius's time in Leipzig and have student associations, or it might have been written for performance as part of an afternoon service at the Frauenkirche in Dresden.

  • 2. Allegro assai
  • 3. Amoroso
  • 4. Vivace

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).