June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
SONATA in G minor Op.24 No.5

SONATA in G minor Op.24 No.5

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Devienne, Francois (1759-1803)
Instrumentation:bn. pft.
Publisher Ref:MR2049
An attractive sonata of 3 vividly contrasting movements by a prolific composer of music for winds who won the praise of his contemporaries.

Price: £19.35
Editor:Hubmann, Klaus
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Musica Rara
Year of Issue:1984, 2000
ISBN:none specified
Although Devienne is described as a virtuoso player of the flute and bassoon, little is known of his musical education. He is said to have composed a mass as a ten year old choirboy in his home town of Joinville, and to have studied the flute with the otherwise unknown Felix Rault, in Paris where it is reported that he played in the bands of the Royal Cravate Regiment, the Olympic Masonic Lodge and the Swiss Guard. It is possible that he was teaching in the free school of the band of the National Guard when it became the Paris Conservatoire on 3 August 1795 and the fifth edition of 'Grove's Dictionary of Music & Musicians' certainly lists Devienne as a senior professor there in 1800, he having published his 'M''thode de Fl''te Th''orique et Pratique' seven years earlier. He was principal bassoon in the orchestra of the Th''''tre de Monsieur in Paris from 1789 until he died.
The most popular of Devienne's twelve operas, 'Les Visitadines', was successfully revived in Paris in 1920, and

  • Adagio
  • RONDEAU, Allegro

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).