June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Handel, Georg Frideric (1685-1759)
Instrumentation:ob. pft.
Publisher Ref:EP3035
Two sonatas written more than ten years apart, each consisting of four strongly contrasting short movements.

Price: £16.95
Skill Level:C/D
Publisher:Peters Edition
Year of Issue:2001
ISBN:none specified
In 1732 Handel's publisher John Walsh of London produced "Solos for a German Flute a Hoboy or a Violin with Thorough Bass for the Harpsichord or Bass Violin Compos'd by Mr Handel", containing 12 sonatas for the various instruments mentioned and calling the collection 'Opus 1'. As was common practice at the time, only the melody and figured bass lines were given, but the figured bass has been fully realized in this edition.

Described here as 'Sonate II', Op.1 No.6 (HWV 364a) in G minor was probably composed between 1722 and 1724 and Handel's autograph score, which is in the Fitzwilliam Collection at Cambridge University, shows that it was written for violin, possibly with the viola da gamba as an alternative. Walsh seems to have misattributed it to the oboe in his 1732 publication, possibly for commercial reasons. Nevertheless, the stately dotted Larghetto of the first movement sounds very well on the oboe and contrasts strongly with the jaunty Allegro second movement and the rollicking 12/8 of the finale.

The C minor sonata (HWV 366), published here as 'Sonate I', first appeared in Walsh's 1732 collection as Op.1 No.8. It dates from 1711 or 1712 which was about the time Handel settled in London, and there is nothing to suggest that it was not intended for the oboe from the outset. It is the only oboe sonata within Op.1 and is made up of four short movements - majestic adagios for the first and third which contrast with the sprightly octave leaps of the second movement Allegro and the lively bourrée of the finale.

  • 'Sonate I' in C minor - HWV 366 (6.28)
  • Adagio
  • Allegro
  • Adagio
  • Allegro
  • 'Sonate II' in G minor - HWV 364a (6.37)
  • Larghetto
  • Allegro
  • Adagio
  • Allegro

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).