June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Harris, Paul
Publisher Ref:CSCP052
A four movement solo work which explores the vast range of expression and tone of the E flat clarinet, and shows what a versatile instrument it is.
Price: £5.95
Sub Title:for Solo E flat Clarinet
Skill Level:E
Publisher:Samek Music
Year of Issue:2023
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
After having written my unaccompanied Bb Clarinet Sonatina for Victoria, I was delighted when she invited me to write a sequel for the Eb clarinet. Its overall structure is cast similarly to the first Sonatina, four movements in the conventional fast-slow-fast-fast format. Of course, one can’t help but be influenced by the slightly more perky tone quality of the Eb in developing appropriate musical ideas, however, I did want to ensure a profusion of
expressive and lyrical moments so as not to typecast the Eb in its more traditional role - Strauss’ Till Eulenspiegel and Berlioz’ Symphonie Fantastique come to mind! Consequently, the first movement, though fast, is based on a rather lyrical idea with juxtaposed triplet fanfare figures creating interesting harmonic colours. The slow movement is expressive and explores particularly the warm middle register of the instrument. The Scherzo movement uses various dance-like rhythms and short notes to provide a witty diversion. The final
movement contrasts crisp and accented staccato notes with short lyrical phrases and the often-changing time signatures give a lilting and buoyant character. I hope the whole puts a spotlight on the Eb clarinet and allows it to show what a versatile instrument it actually is.
- Paul Harris, 2023

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).