June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
Visiting & Shipping Information *Click Here*


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Mathias, William (1934-1992)
Instrumentation:cl. pft.
Publisher Ref:9780193577770
One of Mathias's earliest pieces, the Sonatina for clarinet and piano still displays many of the composer's inimitable fingerprints: the syncopated self-propelling rhythms, eloquent lyricism, and life-enhancing exuberance.

Price: £9.75
Skill Level:D
Series Title:Oxford Contemporary Repertoire
Publisher:Oxford University Press
Year of Issue:1978
ISMN:none specified
"The first public performance of William Mathias's Sonatina for clarinet and piano, Op.3 in a SPNM concert on 13 July at the Town Hall in the 1957 Festival, put the Welsh composer on the international map. This piece was written when the composer was a student, at the Royal Academy of Music in 1956. It was then performed by John Hempenstall with the composer at the piano; in Cheltenham the performers were John Davies and Else Cross. Alan Hacker also played it with the composer on a number of occasion.
It was not published, however, for about twenty years, and in 1976 Mathias made a few minor textural revisions to this end. Listening today, it is fascinating to observe how many of Mathias' inimitable fingerprints are already present at such an early stage: the syncopated self-propelling rhythms, eloquent lyricism and life-enhancing exuberance." - Geraint Lewis

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).