June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Berkeley, Lennox (1903-1989)
Instrumentation:ob. pft.
Publisher Ref:CH01619
A work of 3 contrasting movements which harks back to the composer's time in Paris long before it was written.

Price: £11.99
Skill Level:E
Publisher:Chester Music
Year of Issue:1964, 1990
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
It was at Maurice Ravel's suggestion that Lennox Berkeley went to Paris in 1927 to study with Nadia Boulanger. He got to know Poulenc, Stravinsky, Milhaud, Honegger and Roussel but it is suggested that Ravel was the strongest influence on his technical development as a composer. Back in England, Berkeley met Benjamin Britten in 1936 to begin a long lasting and fruitful artistic collaboration, but his own early compositions have a 'French' quality - for obvious reasons - marked by their "emphasis on melody, (the) lucid textures and a conciseness of expression."

This 'Gallic' influence is still evident in the Oboe Sonatina although it was written thirty years after Berkeley had completed his studies in Paris. The first movement owes something of its classical structure to Stravinsky with its gracefully shaped first subject and lyrical second subject, separated by a contrasting twelve bar interlude of more forceful music. The intensity of the second movement is all the stronger for the restraint of its writing, and the finale has moments of calm to relieve the liveliness of its boisterous syncopation.

The piece is dedicated to the outstanding soloist, orchestral oboe player and teacher Janet Craxton (1929-1981) and her brother John, the painter (1922-2009).

  • I Molto moderato
  • II Andante
  • III Allegro

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).