June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Arnold, Malcolm (1921-2006)
Instrumentation:ob. pft.
Publisher Ref:AL1136
The last of 3 sonatinas for wind instruments with piano which were written early in Malcolm Arnold's composing career. It is full of tunes which are "lyrical and well crafted (and) there is a contrast of musical styles."

Price: £10.99
Skill Level:D
Year of Issue:1951
ISBN:none specified
The twelve year old Malcolm Arnold was inspired to learn the trumpet by hearing Louis Armstrong in Bournemouth and went on to be principal trumpet of the London Philharmonic Orchestra while still in his twenties. In 1948 he gave up professional playing to become a full time composer who was to write nine symphonies, numerous concertos and concert works, chamber and choral music and a hundred film scores; but in 1948 Arnold was working at a more intimate scale and wrote the first of a trio of sonatinas dedicated to his flautist friend Richard Adeney. This was followed, in 1951, by a clarinet sonatina which was probably intended for Frederick 'Jack' Thurston and the Oboe Sonatina, thought to have been inspired by the playing of the internationally renowned soloist Leon Goossens, in the same year.

'Sonatina' or 'little sonata' sometimes suggests simplicity and insignificance but not with this piece which has been described as a full-blooded sonata in miniature. It is well marked with 'Arnoldian fingerprints' - tonally unsettled with sudden and unprepared changes of mood and tempo which are almost contradictory, sometimes lyrical but with sinister undertones and flashes of humour. As one reviewer simply put it "It is full of good things."

  • I Leggiero
  • II Andante con moto
  • III Vivace

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).