June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Tcherepnin, Alexander (1899-1977)
Instrumentation:sax/A. pft.
Publisher Ref:AL20090
A three movement sonata which depicts a boxing match and a race either side of a half-time rest.

Price: £16.99
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Leduc Editions Musicales
Year of Issue:1943
ISBN:none specified
"In our home, music was religion" Alexander Tcherepnin remembered of his childhood. By the age of 15 he knew enough to have composed symphonies and numerous piano pieces and concertos. At 18 the family fled St Petersburg and the Russian Revolution for Tbilisi in Georgia where he continued his studies and began to evolve his own composing technique based on the "major-minor tetrachord" which evolved into the nine tone "Tcherepnin Scale". By 25, he had published over 30 compositions, having moved with his family to Paris four years earlier to escape Communism. Paris was to be the base from which he launched an international career as a pianist and composer, which took him all over Europe, the Middle and Far East and ultimately to the United States where he settled in Chicago for 15 years to teach before retiring to New York to compose.
This work is listed as 'Op.63 Sonatine sportive for alto saxophone or bassoon and piano' and is dated 1939. The composer explains that each of the three

  • II - Mi-temps (Half Time) - "...the rest that two players are taking in the midst of a competition."
  • III - Course (Race) - The saxophonist starts with a lead of 2 bars & a minor third, in pitch. This lead diminishes in time & pitch until the piano catches the sax. or does it?

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).