June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
FREE Delivery on all UK orders
SOUND AN ALARM (score & parts)

SOUND AN ALARM (score & parts)

Composer:Handel, George Frideric (1685-1759)
Instrumentation:2tpt. hn. tbn. tba.
Publisher Ref:265005

Price: £9.95
Sub Title:from Judas Maccabeus
Arranger:Hinterbichler, Karl
Publisher:Phoenix Music Publications
ISMN:none specified
ISBN:none specified
Judas Maccabaeus was composed in England in the tumultuous year 1746 and was designed as a compliment to the Duke of Cumberland for his victory over the forces of "Bonnie Prince" Charles. The year had also proved troublesome for Handel himself. With the increasing popularity of opera, opposition to his oratorios had grown among his regular high-society subscribers forcing Handel to cancel his plans for a 1746 oratorio season. With Judas Maccabaeus, Handel opened the doors to all comers, allowing the middle classes into the concerts for the first time alongside the high-society. The libretto was written by the Reverend Thomas Morell and is based on the first book of Maccabees in the Apocrypha.
'Sound an Alarm' appears in the second act. The people of Israel have just been thrown into despair by the impending invasion of the forces of the King of Samaria. This marvellous aria with chorus is a call to arms to rise up and fight off the invaders. Given the political background of the events of the time and coming at a dramatic high point in the oratorio, it couldn't help but strike a popular and patriotic note with the audience of the time. It is a tribute to the music that the dramatic impact survives to this day, moving audiences all over the world.

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Parcelforce and other courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 57,000 titles listed (and increasing daily), most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes. Just let us know what you’re looking for.

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge between us, so we’re always happy to offer advice and information whenever needed.

Contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).