June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
WE ARE OPEN FOR BUSINESS!! Important COVID-19 information: *Click Here*
STONE SUITE (score & parts)

STONE SUITE (score & parts)

Composer:Burnette, Sonny
Instrumentation:fl+picc+afl+bfl. fl.choir
Publisher Ref:PCMP110

Price: £33.00
Publisher:Pine Castle Music
ISBN:none specified
The 'Stone Suite' by Sonny Burnette is a four movement work for solo flute and flute choir, commissioned by Dr. Chris Potter, in which the soloist is to perform on a different flute for each movement. The first movement, Cliff Palace Ghost Dance (Solo Alto Flute), is inspired by the Cliff Palace in Mesa Verde National Park, located in southwest Colorado. The use of drums and rattles, as well as vocalisations based on Native American texts, is meant to capture the spirit of this ghost dance, which was performed in order to bring the buffalo back to life. Further west, the an early morning panorama at Yosemite National Park is depicted in the second movement, Sunrise at Yosemite (Solo C Flute). This movement features rich harmonies and a solo line floating above the accompaniment like a cloud. In the Shadow of the Great Sphinx (Solo Bass Flute), the third movement, opens with a pensive theme utilising an Egyptian mode, which leads way to a festive dance. The mood is augmented by the use

  • Cliff Palace Ghost Dance
  • Sunrise at Yosemite
  • In the Shadow of the Great Sphinx
  • To Kiss the Blarney Stone

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Parcelforce and other courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).