June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
FREE Delivery on all UK orders
STRING QUARTET No.14 in G major KV 387, 'Spring' (score & parts)

STRING QUARTET No.14 in G major KV 387, 'Spring' (score & parts)

Composer:Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791)
Instrumentation:fl. ob. cl. bn. hn.
Publisher Ref:HL00124646

Price: £58.50
Arranger:Purvis, William
Series Title:The New York Woodwind Quintet Library Series
Publisher:Southern Music Co.
ISMN:none specified
The first question is why transcribe a work such as Mozart's String Quartet KV 387, which is so perfectly rendered in the original, for another instrumental ensemble? The only answer for wind players is to have the opportunity to play and learn from this great work directly. Mozart loved the wind instruments, but wrote for them rather differently than for the strings. Of course, it is much easier for the strings to produce a seamless, blended sound. The winds, which all produce sound differently, will have to work hard for this, particularly in the first and third movements of KV387. In the second movement, with its strange sudden dynamic changes highlighting individual voices, and in the fourth movement, with its brilliant contrapuntal writing (a fourth movement of the Jupiter Symphony in miniature), the winds can contribute more colour and individuality.

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Parcelforce and other courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 57,000 titles listed (and increasing daily), most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes. Just let us know what you’re looking for.

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge between us, so we’re always happy to offer advice and information whenever needed.

Contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).