June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Povolotsky, Yuri (b.1962)
Instrumentation:sax/A. pft.
Publisher Ref:FM499
A 3 movement piece, quick - slow - quick which could be described as 'crossover' and ' .... combine(s) humour with touches of nostalgia.'

Price: £8.00
Skill Level:C/D
Publisher:Forton Music
Year of Issue:2015
ISBN:none specified
Born in Odessa in the Ukraine when it was within the USSR, Yuri Povolotsky graduated from the Composition Faculty of the Gnesin Russian Music Academy in Moscow in 1986, moving to Israel five years later where he joined the Israel Composers' League. The scale of his compositions ranges from accompanied solo pieces to symphonic works in a variety of styles and genres including pieces connected with Jewish themes and folklore, and many of them have been performed internationally at festivals of contemporary music in Eastern Europe, Russia, USA, New Zealand and Japan.
The first movement of Povolotsky's 'Suite in Retro Style' has the feeling of klezmer fused with swing and a gentler middle section marked 'cantabile'. The second movement is a 'Slow Bossa Nova', marked 'Freely with movement' and the third returns to a quicker tempo and tunes based on motifs and phrases typical of 1960's pop. All very retro when looking as far back as the 1930's from 2010 when the piece was written.

  • 1. Merry Constantine
  • 2. Armenian Montmartre
  • 3. From the Sixties

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).