June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Bruch, Max (1838-1920)
Instrumentation:cl. pft.
Publisher Ref:MR2223
15 strongly contrasted dances which are rooted in a wider folk tradition than just Sweden's, originally written for violin and piano.

Price: £17.55
Editor:Magistrelli, Luigi
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Musica Rara
ISBN:none specified
Although he composed some two hundred works, Max Bruch is generally known outside his native Germany only for his first violin concerto, which has become a staple of the violin concert repertoire, and 'Kol Nidrei' for cello and orchestra, subtitled 'Adagio on Hebrew Melodies ...' As well as Jewish sources, Bruch used folk tunes from Scotland, Romania and Sweden.
Despite the title, this work contains some tunes which can be attributed to Jewish origins and add to the " .... lyrical, .... warm, nostalgic glow," which is typical of Max Bruch's music. Like many of his instrumental compositions, the Swedish Dances were written for violin and piano and published in Berlin in 1892. That edition is the basis for this transcription for clarinet in which some of the fifteen dances have been transposed to keys better suited to the clarinet. The editors have also simplified the piano part in places "..., where the chords were too heavy or thick ...". The Scandinavian and Hebrew folk idiom of the

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).