June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
EU Customers - New Tax Rules from 1st July 2021 *Click for Details*


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:de Haan, Jan (b.1951)
Instrumentation:ob. pft.
Publisher Ref:DHP1145591-401
Inspired by the vivid changing colours of unforgettable sunsets.

Price: £10.99
Skill Level:D
Series Title:De Haske Oboe Series
Publisher:De Haske Publications
Year of Issue:2014
Attracted to conducting from childhood, Jan de Haan was the conductor of several wind bands by the time he was seventeen, before his formal musical education at academies in Leeuwarden and Utrecht in his native Netherlands, between 1969 and 1976. Having built up a solid reputation at home, de Haan is a much sought after conductor throughout Europe, in the USA and Japan. Between 1978 and 1989 he produced some 140 television music programmes as conductor, compose and arranger for Dutch radio and television, also founding the music publishing business De Haske in 1983 and running it for twenty-five years. There are few accompanied solo pieces in his list of compositions which consists mostly of orchestral and ensemble arrangements and original works.

'Sweet Sunset' is therefore a rare solo offering from this composer, specially written for his daughter to whom it is dedicated. "The heat of the day ebbs away as the sun slowly dips from view over the western horizon. A dazzling display of warm hues, vibrant yellows, glowing oranges and burning reds, light up the evening before cooling to calm blues, dark, cool purples and finally the black of night."

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).