June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
SYMPHONY No.4 Op.36 - Second Movement

SYMPHONY No.4 Op.36 - Second Movement

(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Tchaikovsky, Pyotr Ilyich (1840-1893)
Instrumentation:ob. pft.
Publisher Ref:EV3727

Price: £22.00
Arranger:Lede, Emilio
Publisher:Egge Verlag
Year of Issue:2017
ISBN:none specified
From the publisher's website:
The Fourth Symphony by Tchaikovsky was premiered in February of 1878 in Moscow. While composing the piece two decisive events took place in the life of the composer: his disastrous marriage with Antonina Milyukova and the beginning of his epistolary relationship with Nadezhda von Meck, his patron and confidant. In a letter addressed to her, Tchaikovsky outlines the programme of the symphony; about the first movement, he says: “The introduction is the seed of the whole symphony, beyond question the main idea. This is Fate, the fatal force which prevents our hopes of happiness from being realised.” Regarding the second one, whose initial oboe solo reminds of ballet music, he declares:
“The second movement of the symphony expresses another phase of depression. This is the melancholy feeling which comes in the evening when one sits alone, tired from work, having picked up a book but let it fall from one’s hands. A whole host of memories appears. And one is sad because so much is gone, past, and it is pleasant to remember one’s youth. There were happy moments when young blood pulsed and life was good. There were gloomy moments, too, irreplaceable losses. All that is indeed somewhere far off. And it is sad and somehow sweet to bury oneself in the past.

This arrangement is made starting from an early edition published by Breitkopf & Hartel. In bar 122 we propose g' natural instead of g' flat in the oboe part (originally played by the bassoon one octave lower). The fourth semiquaver of bar 83 (left hand on the piano, originally played by the cellos) is most likely G natural. - Emilio Lede (May 2017)

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).