June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
Royal Mail postal strikes are planned for the 30th November and 1st December when there will be no collections or deliveries, so please take all this into consideration when ordering. **GENERAL DELAYS: we are aware that UK deliveries are currently taking longer than normal.**


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Holst, Gustav (1874-1934)
Instrumentation:2tpt. hn. tbn. tba.
Publisher Ref:B&D14901

Price: £11.95
Arranger:Chinery, Thomas
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Broadbent & Dunn
Year of Issue:2014
ISBN:none specified
The Planets Suite in Miniature is an attempt to take the listener through Gustav Holst's orchestral masterpiece in less than ten minutes using only five brass instruments. Only five of the seven most famous and recognisable melodies from the original are used, beginning, like the prototype, with Mars. The different movements appear in the same order as Holst wrote, although the rhythmic pattern of Mars reappears on occasion. The piece ends with a clash of interest as the two most well known movements, Mars and Jupiter, compete for the right to finish. The harsh sounds of Mars are heard first before the hymnal Jupiter theme is heard over the driving rhythm of Mars. Jupiter finally triumphs with the piece ending with one final verse of the tune used for the hymn I Vow To Thee My Country. This instantly recognisable arrangement by Thomas Chinery is both challenging and playable, and of a length that will not tire the players too much while at the same time maintaining the essence and pow

  • Mars
  • Venus
  • Jupiter
  • Saturn
  • Uranus

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).