June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(1 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Stanford, Charles Villiers (1852-1924)
Instrumentation:cl. pft.
Publisher Ref:CH55205
Stanford's music is said to have been influenced by the German late romantic composers, particularly Brahms, but these 3 miniatures were written 10 years before the earliest of Brahms' great clarinet works.

Price: £13.99
Editor:Bradbury, Colin
Skill Level:D
Publisher:Chester Music
Year of Issue:1989
ISMN:none specified
Stanford studied organ and music theory at Trinity College in his native Dublin before taking up a choral scholarship at Queens' College, Cambridge at the age of 18. He graduated in 1874 and while holding the post of conductor of the university's amalgamated Musical Society Choir, he was able to make regular visits to Germany where his musical tuition continued under Reinecke. Stanford was composing steadily at this time - unpublished concertos for piano and for cello and his Symphony in Bb major was performed at the Crystal Palace in London in 1879, a year before the Three Intermezzi were first performed when the composer was 28.

Stanford is now best known for his church music composed squarely in the Anglican tradition, and his seven symphonies, nine operas and numerous other works are now largely forgotten, eclipsed by his contemporary Elgar and by his students at the Royal College of Music, where he was Professor of composition from its opening in 1883 until his death. They include Ralph Vaughan Williams, Gustav Holst, John Ireland, Herbert Howells,
Samuel Coleridge-Taylor, Sir Arthur Bliss, Frank Bridge - the list goes on. Some of Stanford's smaller scale and more intimate works have endured better, amongst them the Three Intermezzi, Op.13. Probably for commercial reasons, the publisher insisted on versions for violin and cello, but the composer clearly intended the work for the clarinet. In that, he anticipated Brahms' famous clarinet Trio, Quintet and two Sonatas by at least ten years.

This edition was prepared by the internationally acclaimed clarinettist Colin Bradbury from the first edition of 1880 published by Novello. He has corrected printing errors and changed some notation to conform with modern practice. The first intermezzo (Andante espressivo), in 3/4 time, is lyrical and introspective, balanced by a more lively, staccato middle section in 2/4 . The first fifty three bars of the second are marked 'Allegro agitato' but this tempo gives way to 'Tranquillo' for the remaining hundred bars. Intermezzo No. III consists of seventy bars marked 'Allegretto scherzando' - playful at the beginning but becoming more thoughtful from bar twenty two to the end.

  • No.II Allegro agitato - Tranquillo
  • No.III Allegretto scherzando, largamente, cantabile

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


Average customer rating:
(1 reviews)  

1 Most useful customer reviews (see all reviews):
Tracey Lea
Dec 20, 2022
(Verified customer)
Three beautiful pieces contrasting in character and mood. Beautiful piano accompaniments making for a great ensemble.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).