June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Bennett, Richard Rodney (1936-2012)
Instrumentation:sax/A. pft.
Publisher Ref:NOV120804
His own transcription for saxophone & piano of a suite for 2 pianos by a composer who abandoned the Avant Garde in Europe for cabaret in New York.

Price: £15.99
Skill Level:C/D
Year of Issue:1998
ISMN:none specified
Richard Rodney Bennett (who used his full name on discovering a Richard Bennett involved in music) began his career as a student of Serialism and the Avant Garde under Pierre Boulez in 1950's Paris. He later used more traditional tonality and achieved popularity with his fifty film and television scores which include "Far from the Madding Crowd" (1967), "Murder on the Orient Express" (1974) and "Four Weddings and a Funeral" (1994). Latterly, he turned his back on avant garde music and after moving to New York in 1979, became increasingly identified with the composers of the Great American Songbook. This lead to cabaret style performances with Eartha Kitt, Marian Montgomery and Claire Martin and, considered with his earlier career, explains the Daily Telegraph Obituary writer's observation that Richard Rodney Bennett was "...one of the hardest composers of the 20th century to pigeonhole."

The Three Piece Suite is the composer's own transcription of three of the movements from his Four Piece Suite for two pianos of 1974 and was first performed by him with John Harle (saxophone) in March 1996. The first movement 'Samba Triste' is essentially a theme and variations whose Latin feel is accentuated by pairs of staccato quavers in the accompaniment. The second movement's title and dedication - 'Ragtime Waltz (Homage to Scott Joplin)' describes it neatly and the third movement 'Finale' seems to be a fusion of Blues/Soul/Gospel which defies pigeonholing, like its composer.

  • Samba Triste
  • Ragtime Waltz
  • Finale

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).