June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324
Visiting & Shipping Information *Click Here*


(0 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Collis, James
Instrumentation:cl. pft.
Publisher Ref:M051580200
A 4 movement suite inspired by scenes portrayed in the work of the American novelist, Mark Twain.

Price: £15.50
Skill Level:C/D
Publisher:Boosey & Hawkes Ltd
Year of Issue:1972
ISBN:none specified
Little seems to be known about him now, but in his day, James Collis was a leading clarinettist and teacher in the United States. He attended the Curtis Institute in Philadelphia and studied with Bonade for five years before starting his career as an orchestral player when he played for many famous conductors including Reiner, Stokowski and Rodzinski. His dates are unclear but he was probably the James Collis who appeared before the Senate Committee on Un-American Activities in April 1957. He had virtually given up playing by that time and was teaching at the Neighbourhood Music School.

Collis's best known published work seems to be his six volume 'Modern Course for the Clarinet' but there is mention of a 'Little Concerto in Bb Major' and his 'Festival Solo' is available as well as the 'Tom Sawyer Suite'. This seems to have been inspired by the American Mark Twain's novel 'The Adventures of Tom Sawyer', published in 1876, or by his later books where the same character appears. The four varied movements of the suite are titled with scenes from Twain's writing which they represent.

  • I - School's Out!
  • II - Jackson's Island
  • III - Going Fishing
  • IV - Widow Douglas's Party

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


There have been no reviews yet.

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).