June Emerson Wind Music
Got a Question? Call +44 (0)1439 788324


(1 reviews)  
Printed Edition
Composer:Telemann, Georg Philipp (1681-1767)
Publisher Ref:BA2971
12 unaccompanied fantasias, each of 2,3,4 or more movements - like little suites, which explore the major forms of Baroque instrumental music. Although probably written for the transverse flute, they lie within the range of the oboe.

Price: £13.00
Skill Level:C/D
Publisher:Barenreiter Edition
Year of Issue:1955
ISBN:none specified
Although there is uncertainty about the date of these fantasias and no proof that Telemann actually wrote them, the evidence for his authorship is strong. Telemann was himself a flautist and the range of pitch he used would have suited the baroque flute rather than the violin, suggesting that they were written for the solo transverse flute. The fantasias display the major forms of eighteenth century instrumental music, including strict fugue and freer fugal forms; a sonata da chiesa (church sonata); the "modern" three movement sonata; a French overture and suites of baroque dances, although Telemann does not identify them. This freedom of form and freedom in time signatures and key structure give the fantasias a sense of improvisation.

  • No.2 in a minor (TWV 40:3) - Grave; Vivace; Adagio; Allegro
  • No.3 in b minor (TWV 40:4) - Largo Vivace Largo Vivace; Allegro
  • No.4 in Bb major (TWV 40:5) - Andante; Allegro; Presto
  • No.5 in C major (TWV 40:6) - Presto Largo Presto Dolce; Allegro; Allegro
  • No.6 in d minor (TWV 40:7) - Dolce; Allegro; Spirituoso
  • No.7 in D major (TWV 40:8) - Alla francese; Presto
  • No.8 in e minor (TWV 40:9) - Largo; Spirituoso; Allegro
  • No.9 in E major (TWV 40:10) - Affettuoso; Allegro; Grave; Vivace
  • No.10 in f# minor (TWV 40:11) - A tempo giusto; Presto; Moderato
  • No.11 in G major (TWV 40:12) - Allegro; Adagio; Allegro
  • No.12 in g minor (TWV 40:13) - Grave Allegro Grave Allegro Dolce Allegro; Presto

Delivery Details

We endeavour to dispatch all orders which are in stock on the day the order has been placed. If you need delivery by a certain time please state this clearly on your order and we will do our best to oblige.

For Royal Mail Special Delivery, Airmail (Signed For) and Courier shipments, a signature may be required upon delivery to your address. You are responsible for your order once the package arrives at the supplied delivery address. We cannot be held responsible if the package(s) goes missing once delivered. If any goods are received faulty or damaged on receipt, you must notify us within 7 days of receiving them (via email or telephone) quoting your order reference. We cannot be held responsible for goods that do not arrive with the customer due to errors made by the customer when entering their address details. Please ensure that you check all your details before confirming your order. For more information on deliveries, please click here.


Average customer rating:
(1 reviews)  

1 Most useful customer reviews (see all reviews):
Jane Walker
Nov 29, 2020
(Verified customer)
A beautiful edition of these Fantasias. Urtext, lovely large print and perfectly engraved.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Unrivalled Selection of Music

We offer a truly comprehensive selection of wind music online, with well over 65,000 titles listed, most of which are in stock and ready for immediate despatch.

We also stock a large range of theory and aural resources and specialist books.

First Class Service

We are absolutely committed to providing a first class service to musicians worldwide.

If you’re looking for a piece of music that isn’t listed on our website, we will do whatever we can to find it for you, no matter how long it takes.

VAT No: 172 1180 92 GB
EORI No: GB172118092000

Knowledgeable, Friendly, Helpful

We are a friendly, helpful team of people with lots of specialist knowledge.

For advice and information, contact us on +44(0)1439 788324 Monday to Friday (excluding Bank Holidays) between 9am and 5pm (GMT).